Indigenous Exchange

17天 2020年5月12日至2020年5月20日

$2,000 (可提供奖学金)

描述:

当地人群之间的联系正日益成为增强人类韧性的关键。没有文化多样性,生物多样性也会下降,从而使地球不和谐。为了更好地理解我们如何作为一个物种的生存,对于那些拥有古老知识并接近地球的人们来说,有时间和空间进行互动和交流是很重要的。


希望将全球各地的土著人民聚在一起,与藏人一起学习和合作。交流文化适应力和可持续性技术的方法,我们希望最终举行会议并为领导人提供联系的空间。

 

目前,该中心每年进行一名土著学生参加并免费到藏区旅行。

 

费用或时间包括:

国际国内机票和陆地旅行,一日三餐(大部分为素食)双人床标间房,不包括房内饮料和小吃消费,每天会有瑜伽和打坐指导课。

 

其他费用:护照+中国签证¥130+个人旅行保险(一个月)¥80+零花钱+¥300(尤其想在其他时间自行到熊猫基地等,宾馆可安排)。

 

载止日: 

净地项目提出的申请将在3月11日之前给你保留空间。护照必须在3月31日之前收到。我们每年有1个全额奖学金。

 

航空旅行:我们将尝试将奖学金生带到小组之前,提供更多的指导和更多的社区谈话。其他旅游参与者 将于5月14日到达中国成都(CTU),并于5月29日离开中国成都。我们欢迎您继续住留,费用自理!

 

藏区旅行:

我们将旅行藏族称之为康区,是藏区西边并很多地方都是牧民。那里有着崎岖的山脉。 

前往该地区的旅行很少见,但是随着公路的修建,该地区正在发生快速变化。这次旅行不仅是为了分享西藏的宝贵智慧,使人们了解西藏的神圣精神,而且还向人们展示了藏人如何被外界珍视和尊重他们的文化。

我们将与当地藏族和恢复社区进行对话,就文化,环境和精神可持续性方面的抵御能力进行对话,以多种形式进行恢复。我们将在中国四川省成都市开始旅行。成都是中国西部地区多元素文化的城市。我们将在那儿的少数民族学院与大学生会面,讨论文化可持续性问题以及藏族局势如何与美洲原住民面临的问题有关。从成都出发,我们将飞往青海玉树,从玉树我们乘车前往囊谦。我们将在玉树停留,观察藏区恢复潜力,也观察该城市如何从2009年的毁灭性地震中重建。

我们在囊谦的时间将主要在尕尔村的尕尔中心,村庄和学校度过。每天都会从瑜伽,打坐和藏语课程开始,以上课程有藏族哲学大事指导。我们的冒险之旅将包括徒步爬山,穿越历史悠久的寺院。该旅行包括为参与者提供服务的机会。我们与社区一起安排建造和创建类似温室,这些事物将在将来为他们服务。从尕尔村开始,我们将经玉树返回成都。在登机返回美国之前,我们将在成都举行最后的庆祝晚宴。

期望和条件:这次旅行包括4天的陆地旅行。为了到达尕尔寺,该小组将会穿越漫长而崎岖不平的道路。我们可能需要在车里穿越河流,等待山体滑坡清除,车辆驶出粘性地点或绕道行驶。海拔高,食物选择有限,该小组可能会露营一晚。在成都进行洗漱,旅途中需要在野外上厕所。这次旅行充满挑战和收获!需要有耐力,耐心和良好的团队合作精神。学生将学习成为熟练的国际旅行者。任何有荒野经验的学生都会有宾至如归的感觉。摄影机也会无与伦比。

 

要求:获奖学金学生准备一下需要:


1)关于您文化的多媒体演示与藏人分享。

 2)在您返回旅程后的一周内编出,对旅程和您此次旅行经历。 

参加者必须无毒品和酒精,并且在游览的清醒阶段不得使用任何会改变精神的物质。您将获得10到12篇文章的阅读档案,内容涵盖基本文化。

 

博士是净地项目的创始人和执行董事,Molly McGinn博士,TreeHouse学习社区的执行合伙人

Meg为了尕尔谦仁波切的当地学校,她自愿组织旅行活动并集资。Meg会说藏语,并在尕尔寺(GarGon)呆了几年。

Molly是Prescott大学和Tempe的TreeHouse学习社区的联合创始人。她长期在康复中中心工作,拥有人类学博士学位,并在西藏做过一些实地工作。80年代她在西藏社科院工作之前曾在成都科学院任教一年。

预定此旅行| $2,000

Due 止4/1/2020

Indigenous Exchange

17 days | 5/12/20-5/29/20

$2,000 (scholarships available)

DESCRIPTION:

The connections between Indigenous people are becoming apparent as a key to human resilience. Without cultural diversity, biodiversity also declines, pulling the planet out of harmony. In order to better understand how we can survive as a species, it is important for those close to the earth with ancient knowledge to have time and space to interact and exchange ideas. 

Garchen Institute Tibet hopes to bring together indigenous people from across the globe to study and work with Tibetans. Exchanging methods of cultural resiliency and sustainability techniques, we aspire to eventually hold conferences and provide space for leaders to connect.

For the time being, the institute will host one indigenous person per year to travel and stay in Tibet for free.

 

FEE OR SCHOLARSHIP INCLUDES:

International and Domestic airfare and overland travel, 3 meals a day (mostly vegetarian) and accommodations for 2 people per room. Soft drinks and extra snacks not included. Daily yoga, philosophy and meditation instruction as well as AA meetings and sober support if wanted.

*Additional personal expenses: passport + Chinese Visa $130 + Personal travel Insurance (1 month) $80 + Spending Money $300 (special additional day tours to go to a Panda sanctuary etc. are offered through the guest house)

Deadlines: Applications due to the Pureland Project by March 11 to hold your spot. The passport must be obtained by March 31st. We have 1 full scholarship available per year.

Air Travel: We will try to bring the scholarship student prior to the sober group to give an extra orientation and perhaps some extra community talks. Other tour Participants (see sober experience) will arrive in Chengdu, China (CTU) on May 14th and to depart Chengdu, China on May 29th. You would be welcome to stay on as long as you like at your own expense!

 

THE TRIP TO TIBET:

The area of Tibet we will journey to is known as Kham. It is considered the wild west of Tibet, inhabited mostly by nomads. The rugged mountains are not hospitable to any other way of life. 

 

Tours to the region are quite rare, yet as roads are being built, the area is seeing rapid change. This trip is not only to share the precious wisdom of Tibet and expose people to its sacred spirit, but also to show the Tibetans how valued and respected their culture is by the outside world. 

 

We will engage the Native and Tibetan and Recovery communities in conversations on resiliency in terms of cultural and environmental and spiritual sustainability for recovery in many forms.
We will begin the tour in Chengdu in the Sichuan Province of China. Chengdu a culturally rich and diverse city in the Western region of China. We will be meeting with college students at the Minorities College there to speak about the issues of cultural sustainability and how the Tibetan situation relates to issues facing Native Americans. From Chengdu, we will fly up to Yushu in Qinghai and travel by van to Nangchen, Kham. We will stop in Yushu to see Tibetan resilience in action and observe how the city is rebuilding from a devastating earthquake in 2009. 

 

Our time in Nangchen will be spent primarily at the Garchen Institute Tibet in Gargon village with the school communities. Every day will begin with Yoga, meditation and Tibetan lessons, and end with a 12 step meeting or “circle”. During the day, our adventures will range from hikes into the mountains, to tours through historic monasteries. From Gargon we will head back to Chengdu via Yushu. We will have a final celebration dinner in Chengdu before boarding our flights back to the US on June 1st. Most students will be returning to Prescott for summer school while others will be heading for home visits.

Expectations and Conditions: This trip includes 4 days on the road. In order to reach the monastery of Gargon, the group travels over roads that are long, bumpy, and dusty. We may need to cross rivers in jeeps, wait for landslides to clear, push our vehicles out of sticky spots or make detours. The altitude is high, the food choices are limited, and the group may camp for one night. Hot showers are mostly in Chengdu and toilets on the road are mostly outhouses. The travel is challenging and rewarding! Stamina, patience, and good teamwork are required. Students will learn to become skilled international travelers. Any student with some wilderness experience will feel at home. Photo opportunities are unparalleled.

Requests: We hope that the scholarship student will prepare the following:

1) a multimedia presentation on your culture to share with Tibetans

2) a written review of the trip and your experience within a week of your return from the journey.

 

Participants must be drug and alcohol-free and abstain from any and all use of mind-altering substances during the sober part of the tour.

 

You will be given a portfolio of 10-12 articles to read that cover the foundational aspects of the culture, history of Tibet.

 

TRIP LEADERS:

Margaret “Meg” Ferrigno Ph.D. founder and Executive Director of the Pureland Project. Molly McGinn Ph.D. Managing Partner, TreeHouse Learning Community.

 

Meg voluntarily organizes the tours to raise funds for Garchen Rinpoche’s village school projects which she manages under the Pureland Project. Meg speaks Tibetan and spent several years in Tibet at Gargon.

 

Molly is the co-founder of TreeHouse Learning Community in Prescott and Tempe. She is in long term recovery, has her doctorate in Anthropology and did some of her fieldwork in Tibet. She taught at the Academy of Science in Chengdu for a year in the 80’s before working in Tibet.

BOOK THIS TRIP | $2,000

Due 4/1/2020

© 2019 Garchen Institute Tibet. 

  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon